Film Independent Spirit Awards 2022: CODA’s Troy Kotsur, Squid Game’s Lee Jung-jae, Drive My Car win big, see full list of winners

After the SAG Awards, another star-studded evening took place recently to celebrate cinema. The 2022 Film Independent Spirit Awards took place yesterday (March 6) and we saw some clear and surprising wins on the awards night. The in-person ceremony took place in Santa Monica and was hosted by Megan Mullally and Nick Offerman. This time, prizes were awarded not only in the film categories, but also in the television categories, which were added last year. Indian Pebbles AKA Koozhangal is nominated for Best International Feature Film at the 2022 Film Independent Spirit Awards.

The lost girl was the overall winner of the 37th Annual Independent Spirit Awards. The film won Best Feature, while Maggie Gyllenhaal won Best Screenplay and Best Director for the film. Troy Kotsur won Best Supporting Male Actor for CODA. squid game Lee Jung-jae, drive my car also bagged the prestigious award. SAG Awards 2022: CODA star Troy Kotsur becomes the first Deaf actor to win the individual award for Best Performance by a Male Actor in a Supporting Role.

Check out the full list of 2022 Film Independent Spirit Awards winners:

Best Feature (Given to Producer)

The lost girl

A Chiara

go! Go on

The newbie


Best Male Role

Simon Rex, red rocket

Clifton Collins Jr. Jockey

Frankie Faison, Murder of Kenneth Chamberlain

Michael Greyeyes, wild indian

Udo Kier, swan song

Best Female Role

Taylor Paige, Zola

Isabelle Fuhrman, The newbie

Brittany S. Hall, Testing model

Patty Harrison, together together

Kali Reis, Just catch it

Best Supporting Actor

Troy Kosur, CODA

Colman Domingo, Zola

Meeko Gattuso, queen of glory

Will Patton, sweet thing

Chaske Spencer, wild indian

Best Supporting Woman

Ruth Nega, Who passed

Jesse Buckley, The lost girl

Amy Forsyth, The newbie

Revika Rustle, Pleasure

Suzanne Son, red rocket

Best Director

Maggie Gyllenhaal, The lost girl

Well done Janicza, Zola

Lauren Hadaway, The newbie

Mike Mills, go! Go on

Ninja Thyberg, Pleasure

Best Female Performance in a New Scripted Series

Thuso Mbedu, The Underground Railroad

Anjana Vasan, We are lady parts

Jana Schmieding, Rutherford Falls

Jasmine Cephas Jones, Blind spot

Deborah Ayorinde, THEM: Pact

Best Male Performance in a Scripted Series

Lee Jung-jae, squid game

Olly Alexander, It’s a sin

Michael Greyeyes, Rutherford Falls

Murray Bartlett, The White Lotus

Ashley Thomas, THEM: Pact

Best International Film (Award given to the director)

drive my car (Japan)

Director: Ryusuke Hamaguchi

Compartment no. 6 (Finland/Russia)

Director: Juho Kuosmanen

Parallel mothers (Spain)

Director: Pedro Almodóvar

Pebbles (India)

Director: PS Vinothraj

Little mom (France)

Directed by: Celine Sciamma

Prayers for the Stolen (Mexico)

Director: Tatiana Huezo

Best Editing

Joi McMillon, Zola

Afonso GoncalvesA Chiara

Ali Greer, The hostel from nowhere

Lauren Hadaway, Nathan Nugent, The newbie

Enrico Natale, The Murder of Kenneth Chamberlain

Best Cinematography

EduGrau, Who passed

Tim Curtin, A Chiara

Ante Cheng, Matthew Chuang, blue bayou

Lol Crawley, Humans

Ari Wegner, Zola

Producer Awards

Lizzie Shapiro

Brad Becker Parton

Pin Chun Liu

Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series

Reservation dogs (Devery Jacobs, D’Pharaoh Woon-A-Tai, Lane Factor, Paulina Alexis, Sarah Podemski, Zahn McClarnon, Lil Mike, FunnyBone)

Best New Unscripted Series or Documentary (Given to Creator, Executive Producer, Co-Executive Producer

black and missing

The Choe Show

The Lady and the Dale

Nuclear family

Philly DA

Best New Scripted Series (Given to Creator, Executive Producer, Co-Executive Producer)

Reservation dogs

Blind spot

It’s a sin

The Underground Railroad

We are lady parts

Robert Altman Award (awarded to the director, casting director and cast of a film)


Best Screenplay

Maggie Gyllenhaal, The lost girl

Mike Mills, Go on! Go on

Todd Stephens, swan song

Nikol Beckwith, together together

Janicza Bravo, Jeremy O. Harris, Zola

Truer than Fiction Award

Jessica Beshir, Faya Dayi

Angelo Madsen Minax, North by current

Debbie Lum, Try harder!

Best First Feature (Awarded to Director and Producer)

7 days


queen of glory

Testing model

wild indian

Best First Screenplay

Michel Sarnoski; vanessa block story, Pork

Lyle Mitchell Corbine, Jr. wild indian

Matt Fifer; History of Sheldon D. Brown, Cicada

Chatara Michelle Ford, Testing model

Fran Kranz, Mass

Best Documentary

soul summer


To run away

In the same breath


Price Someone to Watch

Alex Camilleri, Luzzu

Michel Sarnoski, Pork

Gillian Wallace Horvat, I blame society

John Cassavetes Award (given to the best feature film made for less than $500,000)

Baby Shiva



sweet thing

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on March 07, 2022 at 10:05 AM IST. For more news and updates on Politics, World, Sports, Entertainment and Fashion of life, log on to our website

Comments are closed.