Today’s free-to-play game from Epic is a modern RPG classic


It’s Christmas Eve and Epic continues the free game giveaways with an RPG game inspired by PC fantasy classics like Baldur’s Gate and Neverwinter Nights. It’s Pathfinder: Kingmaker, Owlcat’s sprawling adventure through the stolen lands using the robust Pathfinder tabletop set of rules.

Pathfinder: Kingmaker was released in 2018, following a successful Kickstarter campaign the year before. It’s seen several free expansions and a full “Enhanced Edition” free launch since then, all of which have added new races, companions, gear, and options to the mix. It draws heavily on the Pathfinder RPG system and gives you an impressive array of spells and other arcane abilities to use in battle.

You’ll also have plenty of chances to use them, as battles are common in Kingmaker dungeons. You’ll want to prepare carefully for these adventures, as running out of supplies deep in the lower levels of a secret underground fortress is usually a death sentence. Luckily, you have plenty of options to fill your party with, and if you’re up for new challenges, DLC packs add roguelike dungeons and tiefling characters to the mix.

The song “Kingmaker” in the title comes from the barony management layer, which has you construct new buildings in your possessions to appoint advisers – there is almost a Crusader Kings-lite element in this song, making it makes a good way to break up the action as well as introduce new adventures.

You can hang your copy of Pathfinder: Kingmaker on Epic today. You have until December 25 at 8 a.m. PT / 11 a.m. ET / 4 p.m. GMT.

{“schema”: {“page”: {“content”: {“headline”: “Today’s free-to-play game from Epic is a modern RPG classic”, “type”: “news”, “category “:” pathfinder-kingmaker “},” user “: {” loginstatus “: false},” game “: {” publisher “:” Owlcat Games “,” genre “:” Indie “,” title “:” Pathfinder: Kingmaker “,” genres “:[“Indie”,”RPG”]}}}}


Comments are closed.